turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mcgahanj
New Member

I need to delete an account or at least the data entered.

Under My Account I do not have any option to erase or delete forms
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
GinaTM
New Member

I need to delete an account or at least the data entered.

To delete a Form:

  • Sign into https://myturbotax.intuit.com/
  • Under Tax Timeline, click on Take me to my return. (Please note that you need to be in your return in order to get the tools and be able to delete a form.)
  • Go to "My Account" > "Tools" (screenshot #1)
  • Under the Tools Center, select "Delete a Form" (screenshot #2)

Please note that you may need to delete all information related to this form in TurboTax system before the form will delete. So you may need to go back under the section, if any information or amounts are entered, and delete all these entries first

Another way would be to clear and start over.

In TurboTax Online, you can clear and start over as long as you haven't paid or registered yet (free users are asked to register their accounts before they file).

Note: You can’t clear and start over using the mobile app. Instead, log in to your TurboTax account from a desktop or mobile browser to clear and start over.

  1. Sign in to TurboTax Online and open your return by clicking the orange Take me to my return button.
  2. With your screen maximized, click My Account (at the top of your screen toward the right) and select Clear & Start Over. (If on a tablet or phone, you may find the Clear & Start Over option by clicking the three parallel lines, or “hamburger”, in the top left corner.)
  3. Answer Yes to Are you sure you want to clear your return?
  4. After your entries have been cleared out, we'll prompt you to select a TurboTax product so you can start over from the very beginning.

A reason you might want to clear and start over is if you think you’re in a higher-priced version of TurboTax and don’t need to be. Have a look below under Related Information for more details.

If you're signed in under last year's login, once you clear and start over we'll automatically transfer last year's info over if you select the PLUS upgrade, Deluxe, Premier, or Self-Employed. Federal Free Edition (without PLUS) does not include the year-over-year transfer feature.







message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.

Post your Question
Manage cookies