turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a F1 student I already filled my refund using TurboTax and my tax status is showing "accepted" but how can I fill my amended return? Any help will be appreciated.

I am a F1 student I have already filled my refund using Turbotax and my tax status is showing "accepted" but I heard I need to fill the 1040NR form not 1040 NR. When I go to amend my return then I see from TurboTax that "You're going to have to wait until the tax form for amending a return (Form 1040X) is ready for processing. Form 1040X will be ready on 02/22/2019." What should I do now and how can I fill my amended return? I also got my state refund from Oklahoma. Do I need to amend it as well?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KarenJ
Intuit Alumni

I am a F1 student I already filled my refund using TurboTax and my tax status is showing "accepted" but how can I fill my amended return? Any help will be appreciated.

Yes, you will need to amend your returns. If you have been in the US less than five years or part years on an F1 visa, you will need to file a nonresident return. You will need to amend your return after you receive your federal refund or your federal return has been processed.  If the refund is more that you would have received on a nonresident return, the IRS will send you a notice of payment due.

You will need to file a nonresident return. 

TurboTax does not support nonresident or dual status returns.

However we have a partnership with Sprintax offering a nonresident/dual status tax filing solution to our TurboTax customers.

Visit the TurboTax/Sprintax site for more info or to get started.