Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Beeze51
Returning Member

Claiming dependents

I have been claiming my girlfriend and her 8 year old son for 7 years with zero issues. She was a stay at home mom to my step son(were not married) and now that hes in school she is a full time student. I support both of them all year, every year. For whatever reason the IRS decided that this year I have to prove my relationship to the child and her or else I cannot claim the eic or head of household. This is crazy to me. Because weve done this for 7 years through turbo tax and jackson hewitt to make sure we werent doing anything wrong and its been fine every year. Until now. With us not being married how am I supposed to prove relation? I fan prove they lived here all day long and his school records let me as the step father as well. I call but the number just reads off the paper I was sent and offers no help at al . Am I screwed? Why am I suddenly not considered hoh or able to claim him after 7 years? Can I just send in the proof of residency forms and hope that works or is it pointless. 

@audit @eic 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Claiming dependents

You say she is your GirlFriend?  You are not legally married?  Are you in a state that recognizes common law marriage? 

(  CO, DC, CO ,IA, KS, MT, OK, RI, SC, TX, UT)  

If you are not--then you have been filing incorrectly.  You cannot use Head of Household as your filing status if the dependent you claimed is not biologically related to you. 

Am I Head of Household?

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1894553-do-i-qualify-for-head-of-household

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/2900097-what-is-a-qualifying-person-for-head-of-household