Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the W-4! >> Event happening TOMORROW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

As an international student in the US working on my OPT, can I claim returns on student loan interest that I took from a bank in my home country?

I'm an F1 student from India, currently working on my OPT. I'm currently repaying my student loan that I took from a nationalized bank in India. Am I eligible to claim returns on the interest I pay to the bank, when I file my 2017 taxes with the IRS?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DS30

As an international student in the US working on my OPT, can I claim returns on student loan interest that I took from a bank in my home country?

Yes if your loan meets the eligibility requirements (see below), then you will be able to claim the foreign bank student loan interest.

Please note - If you are on a F-1 visa, you will be exempt from the Substantial Presence Test for the first 2 (if non-student) or 5 (if student) calendar years that you are in the US. This means that you are considered a non-resident aliens for US tax purposes.

Here is a link to the IRS website for Form 1040NR, U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return

(You can still claim student loan interest on your 1040NR.)

https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/5227101

View solution in original post

11 Replies
DS30

Yes if your loan meets the eligibility requirements (see below), then you will be able to claim the foreign bank student loan interest.