turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I want to file my federal return MFJ but need to file MFS on our state returns. Which federal return should I send in with my state return, MFJ or MFS return?

I am a resident of Alabama and my wife was a resident of GA and New Mexico. We want to file our federal jointly but need to file all three states as MFS. Normally a copy of the federal return is sent in with the state returns but I'm not sure which version of the federal should be sent.  

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Cindy0H

I want to file my federal return MFJ but need to file MFS on our state returns. Which federal return should I send in with my state return, MFJ or MFS return?

You will include with your state returns the one that was actually filed with the IRS. 

GEORGIA:

A married part-year resident or nonresident with income earned in Georgia whose spouse is a nonresident with no Georgia source income may file either a separate return claiming only their own personal exemption and dependent exemptions and deductions or a joint return claiming total allowable deductions.

NEW MEXICO:

Married Filing Separately

Both your New Mexico return and your federal return must show a correct division of community and separate income and payments if any of the following are true:

You are a married person filing separately.

You were separated or divorced during the year.

You are a married person filing jointly.

You are claiming the exemption for income of persons 100 years or older.

If your income and payments are not evenly distributed, attach a copy of a statement showing the correct division of community and separate income and payments. 

ALABAMA: