Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ryanhajek

What if I'm being claimed as a dependent on my parent's taxes?

I'm in my first year of college. Last year before I started college I worked and made about $4,500 at a job. Knowing this, do I need to file my own taxes if my dad is claiming me as a dependent for last year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

27 Replies

No and and yes, if your father is claiming you as a dependent, you give him your w2's and he should be able to file this with his- if he is sole parent, married filing jointly, or you are under 24 years of age./  Also, be sure to click on the Academic Education Credit, it is used as a credit or deduction for your father, and it if shows as credit, you get this back as a refund.
Carl
Level 15

You will not give your W-2's to anyone. Ever. The student will file their own tax return, regardless. My response in this thread explains everything, as per IRS Publication 970 at <a href="http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p970.pdf" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p970.pdf</a>
SAB123

I'm a single mother, did not work last whole year and my dad claimed has dependent. I need to provide my affidivit of support . can i use my dad income as proof?? Reply asap help needed urgently.. Thanks

For what purpose do you need an affidavit of support?
SAB123

Im sponsoring one of relative for immigrant visa . Thanks for your reply

If this is for Immigration, you must ask them what they will accept.
SAB123

Can i use my dad return as mine ?? For any purpose if  my dad claimed has dependent on his returns??.. Thanks
SAB123