turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NationalQ

Filing Fee Question

Turbo Tax charged me a $40 filing fee, but they were unable to e-file it and said I have to mail it. How do I get a refund of this $40?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Kat
Level 15
Level 15

Filing Fee Question

There is no filing fee for either a federal or state return in the online platform.  The charge is likely for the tax preparation program.  That fee applies whether you e-file or print for mailing.

*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Kat
Level 15
Level 15

Filing Fee Question

There is no filing fee for either a federal or state return in the online platform.  The charge is likely for the tax preparation program.  That fee applies whether you e-file or print for mailing.

*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***
ldenison

Filing Fee Question

Estimate of tax preparation fee for personal tax return?

Filing Fee Question

@ldenison wrote:

Estimate of tax preparation fee for personal tax return?

Purchasing the TurboTax online editions for 2019 is dependent on the tax data you will need to enter on a federal tax return.

Go to this TurboTax website for a comparison - https://turbotax.intuit.com/personal-taxes/compare/online/