Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rflem04

I haven't paid any taxes all year and I'm self-employed. I thought I could pay at the end of the year... How much will I be penalized and what should I do at this point?

Apparently I'm not a smart person, and spent the entire year thinking I could just pay at the end. I asked a tax professional friend and she gave me all these circumstances that made it seem like I would be okay to wait until the end of the year. Now I'm doing more and more research and realizing she probably is not right. This is my first year being self-employed so I am new to all of this. From what I'm reading it sounds like I'm going to owe 50% total on taxes now at the end of the year at least. Lets say I made a generic amount like 40k and didn't pay any taxes on that yet. What kind of penalty am I going to be looking at and what should I do at this point? Thanks for your answers.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I haven't paid any taxes all year and I'm self-employed. I thought I could pay at the end of the year... How much will I be penalized and what should I do at this point?

The possible issue you face when you prepare your income tax return is being "underpaid."   That's a piece of jargon that has a specific meaning under the income tax laws.