Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Correct tax files as a resident alien

I realized that I may make a mistake when file the tax forms this year. Here is my detailed status:

I'm single and was a J-1 non-degree student at July 2013 - Sep 2013 (I've never been to US before that period). Then I have been an F-1 student since Aug 2014 (to now). Just double check: should I be a resident or non-resident alien?

I have thought I am a non-resident alien because it is the fifth year of my F-1 status. I have filed my forms as an NRA and already got tax returns. I'm kind of worried if I have made a mistake here. If so, could I correct it, perhaps this year or the next year?

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

You will be a resident alien for 2018 tax year.  As an F-1 visa holder, you are considered as a nonresident for five years from the first year you enter the US ( 2014-2018). However, since you have already used one year for nonresidency while on the J-1 visa, you can only use the remaining four years as a nonresident under the F-visa (2013-2017), you will be a resident in 2018 if you stay more than 183 days in the US.  

If you have filed a Form 1040NR and needs to amend by submitting a Form 1040, please see steps below.  Basically, you would need to submit both the Form 1040-X and form 1040NR together:

• Download the Form 1040-X from IRS website (see below).  On the front page of Form 1040-X, enter your name, current address, and social security number (SSN) or IRS individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN)