Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Schedule C part III question

On both turbo tax and free tax USA I am noticing the same thing. This is my first time filing taxes, and I started my business in 2022 as an SMLLC. I sold on Etsy and Smugmug- a photo-selling platform. I am using the cash method, and in part II, line 22, I have my supply cost listed along with  De Minimis Safe Harbor Election.  I made about $5800 this year with my business. After filling everything out, my Part III Cost of Goods Sold is blank. Do I not need to worry about listing anything, such as inventory or Materials and supplies?

Thank you for the help again.  

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

you can deduct cost of goods sold only against those items actually sold.

supplies  are a separate thing.

Understood, but I do not have an inventory from last year, and I currently do not have an inventory now. The photo prints are sold online through a lab, I never have expenses right off for the prints, and the calendars through Etsy all sold before the end of 2022. I am kind of confused about that part and if I need to fill any of those lines in

AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

It sounds like you may carry an inventory of calendars throughout the year, but you do not directly have an inventory of the photo prints that you sell online because they are produced elsewhere.