turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Resident alien J1 visa holder - Stimulus payment eligibility

Hi there,

I have a question about my eligibility for the stimulus payment. I have been on a J1 visa research scholar since early 2018 and have filed my taxes as "non-resident alien for tax purposes" for years 2018 and 2019. In 2020, I passed the substantial presence test and I became a "resident alien for tax purposes". I did not receive any of the stimulus payment made during the pandemic and I am fully aware that it's because the IRS has my tax return in 2019 as non-resident alien. My question is: now that I am a resident alien in 2020, am I eligible to claim the stimulus payments on my tax returns for 2020? TurboTax does not give me the option to not claim the payments. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks a ton.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

According to IRS.gov, you are only eligible if you received income for 2018 and 2019. Also please refer to this IRS article for eligibility requirements. in the article it mentions the following.

You are not eligible for a payment if any of the following apply to you:

• You may be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’s return (for example, a child or student who may be claimed on a parent’s return or a dependent parent who may be claimed on an adult child’s return).
  • You do not have a Social Security number that is valid for employment.
  • You are a nonresident alien. This applies to the 2018-2019 tax years.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"