Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Why am I subject to the Kiddie Tax and why can't I claim a Recovery Rebate Credit?

I believe that I am being subjected to the Kiddie Tax when I shouldn't be. Take note of these facts:

• I am a full-time student under the age of 24. My birthday is 5 September 2001.
  • I received $6952 in unemployment compensation in 2020, all from the government. I am reporting my Form 1099-G in my 2020 tax return.
  • I received $5886 of student financial aid in 2020. This includes $1213 from a scholarship, $500 from a federal SEOG grant, $3173 from a federal pell grant, and $1000 from the College Access Program. For your information, the College Access Program is a grant administered by the Kentucky Higher Educ...
  • My earned income is not more than half of my living costs.
  • Here are the conditions of my custodial parent: She is single and divorced. She is alive. I live with her. No one else lives in our household. She is able to claim me as a dependent, but she will not do so in 2020 and she has never done so previously. She will not file taxes in 2020 and she did not file taxes in 2019 or 2018. She is unemployed. She is a monthly recipient of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. This is her only source of income. All of these conditions held true throughout the entirety of the years 2018, 2019, and 2020. All of these conditions still hold true today.
  • My conditions: I am employed part-time and will be reporting my Form W-2 in my 2020 tax return. In addition to the money I earn in wages, I am a monthly recipient of SSI benefits. All of these conditions held true in 2019 and 2020. All of these conditions still hold true today.