turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What is form 15111

I have been using Turbo tax for 5 years I have been a loyal customer, I'm a single mother of 3 making $27000. I received a letter from the IRS telling me I did not claim my Earned income credit, How can Turbo Tax make such a significant mistake? They advertise they are free but it never is, I was charged quite a bit for the taxes and now I get this letter, I trusted them to be diligent...

How do I fix this I cant even amend my taxes, I don't think I'll be using them again next year if I don't get some type of support. This is a big problem I see I'm not the only one by reading other posts.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

78 Replies
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

What is form 15111

TurboTax will automatically calculate the Earned Income Credit to your return and guide your through the correct screens, if you qualify for the credit. There may have been a reason you did not qualify for the Earned Income Credit or something entered into TurboTax which prevented those screens from populating. Please review the requirements below (especially the bolded section about qualifying children). Based on your income level, your children must be considered qualifying children in order to be eligible for the credit. 

To qualify for and claim the Earned Income Credit you must:

• Have earned incomeand
  • Have been a U.S. citizen or resident alien for the entire tax year; and
  • Have a valid Social Security number (not an ITIN) for yourself, your spouse (if filing jointly), and any qualifying children on your return; and
  • Not have investment income exceeding $3,650; and
  • Not be filing a Form 2555 or 2555-EZ; and