Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Turbo Tax Deluxe 2021 Won't Install

I've been using TurboTax for 28 years and it would not install this year for the very first time ever. I'm pretty sure it's a software issue. There should be absolutely NO need to change environmental variables to get a program to install!

Easy and successful installation is the most basic expectation that one can have of a program. There is something seriously wrong at the most basic level if this expectation is not met.

I have absolutely no problems with any of the other many (also much more expensive and complicated) programs that I have installed on my system running the latest version of Windows 10 with all pertinent updated drivers, etc.

the fix for me - i copied the install file that downloaded from amazon from the download folder to the desktop. it installed and updated. frustrated with this install fail for a day and a half before i fixed it with this simple thing. have to be fair, it's what the instructions said. but nowhere did it say "IF YOU DON'T DO THIS IT WON'T INSTALL!" ugh.

Thank You Thank You Thank You!

I spent hours trying to track down a solution. Your suggestion worked flawlessly!

Is this a TurboTax programming problem that should have been addressed prior to releasing their software?

I had a similar problem with HR Block a few years back. That is why I switched over to the more expensive TurboTax product back then.

My one question is whether the variable values that I changed to "C:\Temp" need to be changed back to their original values of "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Temp"?

HeatherPLO
Intuit Alumni

@BobBQ2