turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Multi-state filing situation with spouse residing in a different state and not working.

Hi,

I am in a bit of a complicated situation and I would like to understand this so that I can use TT H&B more effectively.

I am married and in the process of filing jointly. I lived in MA till August of 2019, after which I moved to MO in September. I was a student in MA and moved for work, so I know either ways, I will have to file in both MA and MO as a part-year resident. That much is clear to me. The problem arises when I factor in my spouse. She moved to the US only in August of 2019, stayed with me for a couple of weeks, at which point she moved to NY for grad school. She did not work, does not have income to report in the US (or elsewhere for that matter). 

Because her domicile/residence is in neither MA/MO, do I need to file state taxes for NY too, given that she did not have any income whatsoever? Also, how does my filing jointly affect my state filings in MA/MO, since we did not/ do not live together still? I have both MA/MO downloaded on TT and have filled out the individual state forms, so I am assuming it will handle the necessary filing jointly/separately on a state-by-state basis?

Looking forward to any advice/help. It is much appreciated and thank you in advance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Multi-state filing situation with spouse residing in a different state and not working.

I am married and in the process of filing jointly.