Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Long Term Care Premium Deduction

I am a resident of Illinois with rental property in Wisconsin.  I have to file Wisconsin 1NPR as a non-resident.  I understand that as a Wisconsin non-resident, and using 1NPR form, I should be able to takes a deduction on my Wisconsin form for Long Term Care Premiums.  I do not see anything in Turbo Tax Premier Windows Version, that allows me to enter this.  Where is that?

Turbo Tax Premier Window Version

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

WI taxes only your WI income.  PERHAPS. BUT LOOK AT HOW THEY DO THAT.  THEY TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION HOW MUCH YOUR FEDERAL INCOME IS THAT CARRIES OVER TO YOUR WISCONSIN 1NPR FORM.  THAT IS WHERE YOU MUST GET IT REDUCED.  I am not asking how to add it to my Wisconsin form as a Wisconsin itemized deduction credit.  You know, Turbo Tax should automatically direct you through these screens when it sees you have other states that allow this.  Turbo Tax expects that you know you can do that, because who would bother to fill out a Schedule A if you don't have enough to itemize.  How is one supposed to know that WI, as non-resident, will take what is on Schedule A, and apply it to the WI taxes if WI allows is.  Like in this case, it will reduce the amount of Federal Income that WI looks at when calculating my WI taxes.

Wisconsin uses your federal income to determine the WI tax percentage.  Thus, you can deduct the Long Term Care Premium amount from the federal income that is used in the WI calculation for your WI taxes.  Thus, somewhere you can indeed deduct the Long Term Care Premium.  You can also deduct your medical expenses from that federal income amount.