The Desktop version (CD/Download) of TurboTax is prepared ONLY on your computer. It is not saved to TurboTax servers. That's why the program will ask you, each time you close your TurboTax file, if you want to SAVE the file. This way, any changes you've made are saved to your file.
Out of curiosity, what additional charges are you making before filing using TurboTax Desktop software? You'd have additional charges, for example, if you select some add-on feature, e-filing a state return, or purchasing state tax software programs.
*Please click the thumbs-up icon if this response was helpful.
**Please click "Mark As Best Answer" if your question has been resolved. Thank you.
It's always a good idea to make a backup copy of your tax data file, in case your original gets lost or corrupted. Here's how:
If you make changes to your original tax return file, repeat these steps to ensure your original and backup copies are in-synch.
You can also use the SAVE AS function so you can save your progress along the way that you can go back to in case you mess up and would like to try again from a certain place ( like before you add a section ).