turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Charger83
Returning Member

I'm filing a joint Virginia return with my spouse who is a part year resident. I am a full year resident. Turbotax keeps insisting that I provide the dates I moved into or out of Virginia. It makes no sense!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
LindaS5247
Expert Alumni

I'm filing a joint Virginia return with my spouse who is a part year resident. I am a full year resident. Turbotax keeps insisting that I provide the dates I moved into or out of Virginia. It makes no sense!

It thinks you moved possibly, because your husband is a part year resident.  Does your husband work in another state? Are you filing a resident and non resident state tax return?  

When entering your state tax returns, when multiple states are involved, you should enter your nonresidential state tax return first.

Then enter your residential state tax return..

It is recommended to prepare the nonresident state first, because your resident state will provide you a credit for the tax you pay to the nonresident state.  By preparing the nonresident state first, TurboTax can transfer the credit information to your resident state to return. 

Click here for additional information on filing multiple state returns.

Click here for information regarding filing multiple states returns.

Click here for how to delete your state return in TurboTax desktop.

Click here for how to delete your state tax return in TurboTax Online.