Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to enter my 1042s form Income Code 17

Hi, I am a student with F-1 visa and have been in the US for 5 years. I have a 1042-s form, income code 17, chapter indicator 3. I had extra income for a student leadership program. How do I enter this information on turbotax. Any help would be very appreciated!! 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

Have you been in the US more than 5 years counting the year you arrived as your first year?  If not you need to file a non resident return.  Just checking.

You will need to enter the income in the self-employment section of TurboTax.  In the search bar at the top of your screen, enter self employment income and click the jump to link.  As you were not an employee, you were paid as an independent contractor.

You may need to upgrade to include this income.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you!! One other question, I had a 30% tax rate on the income that I've obtained through this. How do I then claim for the withheld amount? 

KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

You will need to enter this tax withholding as follows:

1. Click on Deductions & Credits at the top of your screen
  2. Scroll down to Estimates and Other Taxes Paid
  3. Click on Other Income Taxes
  4. Scroll down to Withholding not already entered on a W-2 or 1099 and click Start

I have one other question, Do IRS receive a copy of the 1042s form? Or do I have to file my taxes by mail to send them the form? 

LeonardS
Expert Alumni