Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Peter S

Federal MFJ, state MFS (MA and NY)

Hi,

My wife and I lived in different states (I was a full-year MA resident, my wife part-year NY and part-year MA resident). We are filing a joint federal return and separate (MFS) state returns. For NY: Form IT-203 asks for the federal income as well as the New York income. Does this only refer to my wife's portion of the federal income or do we have to include the entire joint income reported on the joint federal return? I don't see an option to specify my part of the income as such. For MA TurboTax asks whether we lived together and which portion of the federal income is from the other spouse.

Thanks for the help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

No. Your wife cannot be a full-year resident a New York and a part-year resident of Massachusetts. She is considered to be a NYS resident if she spent at least 184 days in New York State during the taxable year. Any part of a day is a day for this purpose. 

In New York State, there are two options for married individuals who file a joint federal return and one spouse is a New York State resident and the other is a nonresident.

For New York, you must either:

• file separate New York State returns using filing status (married filing separate); or
  • file jointly, as if you both were New York State residents, using filing status (married filing joint).