Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Error 1603 fatal error occurred during installation or updating TurboTax 2022

I have been using Turbo Tax for 30 years or longer. Never have I had a single problem, until the present situation, that is. Now, this fatal error turns up, and the 2022 tax filings for October 16th are due within several days. My system is Win 10.

If Turbo Tax is monitoring this problem, a problem that has existed off and on for at least the past few years I hear, this is the time to step up and provide a solution. In other words, help me, please, Turbo Tax.

I have tried the recommended fixes, such as checking antivirus programs or anything that has been added to my computer since I last updated my Turbo Tax 2022 program. No success. Administrative rights changes also do not work. Plus, I tried the manual update that provided a Turbo Tax patch, but this also did not work.

Moreover, the entire program stopped working when I tried rebooting my computer. I am therefore left with partially finished tax files that I cannot access because the entire program no longer works.

As I said, the program has been updated many times without a single error until now. The computer I am using also has had previous versions of Turbo Tax running without incident.  

The October extension deadline closes in just a few days, and I need to figure out how to proceed.

Please share if anyone has recommendations on how to work around this problem. If Turbo Tax is working on an update/fix to the download problem, please hurry. I am running out of time. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

You might want to contact Support tomorrow.

How do I contact TurboTax? (intuit.com)