Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I have to file a non-resident Oregon return if I signed up for health insurance through the Oregon marketplace?

I'm a California resident going to school year round in Oregon. I'm not working, so I don't have earned income, but I have passive income from stocks and bonds. I am filing a California state return but my understanding is that because I did not earn any wages in Oregon, I do not have to file an Oregon non-resident state return.

When in California, I had health insurance through Covered California. When I got to Oregon, I signed up for local health insurance through the Oregon marketplace exchange. Because I'm now receiving health insurance through the Oregon marketplace, do I have to file an Oregon non-resident state return? Will this affect my California state return in any way?
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

Do I have to file a non-resident Oregon return if I signed up for health insurance through the Oregon marketplace?

No, if you do not have income, having insurance is not listed as one of the requirements for filing a Non Resident Oregon tax return. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"