turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anon29

Can I file as an independent?

I know that my parents will try to claim me as their dependent, however I have not received any financial assistance from them nor stayed in their home at any point (aside from visiting on a holiday). For some context, I'm a full time college student who is funding their education fully with the military reserve, I've made great efforts to be financially independent as to not rely on others; I would like to be able to file as an independent as a result.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies

If they  claim you (after you have a discussion as to why they cannot) and your return is rejected  then your only option is to mail in a paper return to claim yourself.  They will/should amend their return however that is not your problem.  

in order for your parents to claim you, there are a number of rules that must be satisifed...

I suggest clicking on the link below and answer the questions as if you were your parents.  it's the offical IRS website.  Your parents would need to satisfy the responses to these questions in order to  claim you legally  (or for you to prove that they can't under the circumstances). 

one of the critical questions is who is providing more than 50% of your support