Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can F1 student choose to be treated as resident alien?

I am an F1 student and came to the US since 2015, and I have a W2 during 2019 under OPT. I have a question that can I choose to be treated as resident alien and fill form 1040 instead of 1040-nr-ez for 2019 under the first-year choice?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

I'm going to ask someone familiar with international filing situations to assist you.

@pkAre you able to assist here when you are next in the forum?   Thanks!

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@meimei0602 , per your post  you are exempt  ( from counting days present ) till the end of 2019.  I am assuming here that your  F-1 is still valid and you are on OPT and thus still a Non-Resident Alien.

The first year choice requires amongst other things  that you will be a resident alien during next year and you cannot make the first year choice till you meet that  Substantial Presence Test.  Your  situation  makes it  kind of questionable  because  (a) there is no certainty that your OPT will last till  July of  2020,  and (b) that your  visa will not expire  ( assuming that F-1 was for five years) .   Can you still do it -- yes; but  why would you want to do it -- just to file a 1040  instead of 1040-NR  or what. Perhaps  you need to answer that and then we can work on how to achieve that.

Note that  W-2 by itself does not change your  status -- it just allows  taxes to be withheld.

Which country are you from ?  ( not that some countries have  special assertions  for students with local income while on training and education ).