Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

As a new resident alien, do I need to report a foreign fellowship?

I'm a graduate student and I receive a fellowship in the form of a stipend from Mexico to help pay for living expenses and health insurance. I entered the United States as a nonresident alien, but am now a resident alien for U.S. tax purposes.

According to publication 519, it is not 100% clear if I need to report this as income or not: "How to report income on your tax return. In most cases, you will not need to report the income on your Form 1040 or 1040-SR because the income will be exempt from U.S. tax under the treaty." (p.47)

Question: does Mexico have a treaty for fellowship grants? Does the tax treaty saving clause provide an exception for it? Does it have a time limit? In short, what should I do?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

This is a revision to an earlier post I made. According to IRS publication  901 on page23, "A student or business apprentice who is a resident of Mexico immediately before visiting the United States and is in the United States solely for the purpose of education or training is exempt from U.S. tax on amounts received from
sources outside the United States for the individual's maintenance, education, or training".

The time restriction, as I can tell, is that your graduate studies must commence immediately in the US immediately after arriving from Mexico.

[ Edited 02/18/22|06:00 AM PST]

@Henry34 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thanks for your thoughtful (and very prompt) answer, Dave.