Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

dysmorphdoc
Returning Member

1099-nec, schedule C and stock options

I was an employee of a company and received many ISO and NQSO options over the years.  I quit the company 2 years ago as an employee and became an independent contractor consultant to them.  Normally, when you quit a company, you are given a window to exercise your vested options and all remaining un-vested options go away.  However, in my case, I specifically had my consultant contract state that my options would continue to vest as long as I was a consultant.  I exercised (and sold at the same time) a bunch of the options last year at the same time I was billing the company for my consulting work.   I received both a W2 and a 1099-nec for the sale of the stock.  Remember that all of my time working for the company last year was as an independent contractor so I was expecting the 1099-nec to show only the income I made billing them my hourly rate as a contractor during that time.  So I was surprised to see an extra $350,000 on the 1099-nec, which the company says was for the a portion of the stock sale, while the rest was reported on the W2 (which only has income the from stock sales as I was not an employee).  Now I can't figure out what to do in TTax.  If I leave the 1099 figures as they are in TTax, then I am paying self-employment taxes on $350,000 that I didn't earn as an independent contractor but rather from the stock sale.  Am I correct in that being wrong?  Seems to me I should only be charged capital gains on that $350,000 but TTax has being paying capital gains and SE taxes.  That can't be right?  Any help appreciated. thx.  Rick

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.