Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099-Misc Confusion

I am a consultant.  I am not self employed nor an employee.  I am not considered a independent contractor.  I only received money as a consultant/non-employee.  I got a 1099-misc, entered all the data in turbotax and am lost.  I am asked questions like report any gains or losses?  I guess a gain might be what I earned but I cannot help but feel that the 1099-Misc is not the correct form.  What is right, next, etc.  Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LeonardS
Expert Alumni

1099-Misc Confusion

When you work as a consultant, you are considered a self-employed individual for income reporting purposes.  If you earn more than $600 in a year, the client has to provide you with a Form 1099-MISC, the IRS is also provided a copy.

You will enter all your Form 1099-MISC income and expenses related to your consulting business on Schedule C Profit or Loss from Business.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

29 Replies
LeonardS
Expert Alumni

1099-Misc Confusion

When you work as a consultant, you are considered a self-employed individual for income reporting purposes.  If you earn more than $600 in a year, the client has to provide you with a Form 1099-MISC, the IRS is also provided a copy.

You will enter all your Form 1099-MISC income and expenses related to your consulting business on Schedule C Profit or Loss from Business.

1099-Misc Confusion