Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

QCD from an RMD for 2022

The 1099R I got from my bank includes both the Required Minimum Distribution from an IRA plus some Qualified Charitable Deductions I also did all rolled together into one amount.  This is my first year trying the QCD option. Although the QCD's are actually more than the RMD (a separate story), TurboTax is deducting the whole 1099R amount from my Taxable Income. This is after I correctly answered the TT question about how of the 1099R was the RMD.  Does this sound like a software glitch in TT? The amounts are not huge but I am concerned about a possible audit flag. Years ago I mis-entered some 1099R info in TT and the IRS jumped on it later on. Thanks for any info.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

QCD from an RMD for 2022

The taxability of the distribution listed on your form 1099-R will depend primarily on the amount entered in box 1 and 2 and the codes listed in box 7, and secondarily to the answers you give to the questions asked after you enter the form. Can you clarify if there is an amount listed in box 2(a) and what codes are in box 7 please?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
dmertz
Level 15

QCD from an RMD for 2022