turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jwlp
Returning Member

Importing Quicken produces duplicate Donation and 1099R forms in Turbotax

I have been a Quicken and TurboTax user for many years and in several of my most recent years of preparing taxes, that I can recall, I have seen numerous duplicate forms generated including W-2s, 1099 Rs ,  Donations and other entries, after Quicken data was imported. Rather than trying to get support to address this during the busy tax season, I deleted the duplicate forms and continued with my tax preparation, even though manual deletion of so many forms was a pain!

With the delay in filing taxes the year, I am just getting started in preparing my taxes, but I thought I would give some attention to address this duplicate form issue this year.

I thought that I would reach out and see if this issue has already been addressed for 2019. But, if there is no indication that this problem has been addressed, I would check carefully and save any files that you think are necessary to troubleshoot and get this issue resolved. (I am retired but have 45+ years experience in IT.)

The integration between Quicken and TurboTax has been a key reason that I have stuck with these products.

So, here are the questions that I would like to see addressed:

1. Is there any specific documentation that defines how TurboTax recommends that Quicken data be imported?

a. In previous years, I have done an import right after the TurboTax data was established from the prior year. Once and done!

b. But, perhaps this is not the best way and  this could be the cause of my duplications?

2. What is the criteria that TurboTax uses to match the Quicken imported data with the existing (W-2, 1099 R, Deduction and etc.) forms?