Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

taxwanderer1
Returning Member

I was in the US from 2017 - 2022 on an F1 Visa, and then I left the US when F1 Status ended. I returned on B2 visa and want to see what taxes I may owe.

I was in the US from 2017 - 2022 on an F1 Visa, and then I left the US when F1 Status ended. I returned on B2 visa in November of 2022 and left in April of 2023. I then came back in May of 2023 and left in June of 2023 on B2. I then came back in December of 2023 and left in Jan 2024 on B2. Then I came back in February of 2024 and left in March of 2024 on B2.

I don't have tax residency elsewhere as I travel full-time. My income is from a US based remote job where I'm a contractor. What taxes may I owe in the US for 2023 if I only came on B2 during holidays, but still have a US based remote job when I'm out of the country.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

I was in the US from 2017 - 2022 on an F1 Visa, and then I left the US when F1 Status ended. I returned on B2 visa and want to see what taxes I may owe.

How you file will depend on if you are considered a resident for US tax purposes or not.  If you are not, then you would need to file a 1040NR which could be done through Sprintax.com.

If you are a US resident for tax purposes, then all of your income from all sources worldwide would need to be included on your return.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
taxwanderer1
Returning Member

I understand. I'm trying to see if I am considered a US Tax resident based on my travels and visa status

DMarkM1
Expert Alumni