turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sfd722

I'm a volunteer firefighter. I receive a 1099-MISC for my small compensation. What deductions would apply to me that may be overlooked?

I am compensated once-per-year.  The City reports this as non-employee compensation and I subsequently pay self-employment tax.  Is there a deduction that I might be missing?

I contribute to our 501(c)3 and deduct that as charitable expense.  I also deduct mileage.

I pay for items to sell at our fire department bake sale.

Our state offers a $100 property tax credit for vehicle registration for being a volunteer firefighter.

Is there something I might have missed?  What about the Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

I'm a volunteer firefighter. I receive a 1099-MISC for my small compensation. What deductions would apply to me that may be overlooked?

Specific answers vary both by state and municipality.

IRS Statement:
http://www.irs.gov/Government-Entities/Federal,-State-&-Local-Governments/Issues-for-Firefighters

In response to several questions:

1. If your Fire Department bake sale is for the municipal department, then any expenses you incur are charitable.  However, this is not typical.  My experience [38 years FF/medic] was that such bake sales were for the Firefighter Association not the municipality.  Also, although you say your FF org is a §501(C)(3), I have seen that almost all if not all are instead §501(c)(4) which is still a not-for-profit but not technically charitable since it does not meet the conditions - so payments to it or for it would not be deductible if it is a (c)(4) instead of (c)(3) - best to check.