Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a firefighter/EMT. I am the VP of the local union. I received a 1099-MISC and box 7 (non employee compensation) is filled out. Am I considered self employed?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

I am a firefighter/EMT. I am the VP of the local union. I received a 1099-MISC and box 7 (non employee compensation) is filled out. Am I considered self employed?

Yes, for that income since it was for non-employee compensation (Box 7). If you did not receive a Form W-2, you will have to enter the income on Schedule C.

If you received a 1099-misc, follow these steps:

You can enter a 1099-MISC on the 1099-MISC Summary screen.

1. Open or continue your return.
  2. Search for 1099-misc.
  3. Select the option to go to the 1099-MISC section.
  4. Select Yes to Did you get a 1099-MISC?
    • If you need to enter another 1099-MISC, select Add Another 1099-MISC to enter a new one.
  5. Enter the information from your 1099-MISC.
    • If your form has an amount in more than one box, you’ll need to enter them as separate 1099-MISC forms. We’ll help you with that.

I guess where i'm confused is why am I being taxed for self-employment on Union Dues reimbursement? I understand having to pay federal taxes, but why the added self-employment tax?

ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

You are not wrong. This is what the IRS has to say:

Employee business expense reimbursements.