Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

oleksiakd

What to do when taxes were taken out of workers compensation pay?

I am a full time firefighter/paramedic in Michigan. I had a injury on the job and was on workers compensation for 4 months. I work 24 hour shifts, and I am paid based on 112 hours/2 week pay period. Our union has an agreement with the township that while we are off the job (injury) on workers compensation, they continue to pay us our normal pay check/normal pay(with federal/state taxes taken out). I was told this was done for our benefit, so there is no lapse in our benefits. The workers compensation agency cuts checks that are payable to myself and the township I work for. When I came back to work, I had to endorse the checks and the township cashes them. I am aware that workers compensation payments are supposed to be tax exempt for Michigan/Federal taxes. So my question is, when I go to do my taxes(Turbotax), is there a page/section to claim when I was on workers comp, and how much I was paid during that period? Will that result in a tax refund?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

12 Replies
Belling

You should have received workers compensation benefits that were equal to 80% of your after tax wages. Your workers comp benefits are not taxable and therefore do not need to be included. Furthermore, Receiving workers compensation benefits that were calculated based on your after tax take home pay, does not equal you actually paying taxes. 

Therefore, you are not entitled to any refund for tax withholding like you would be with your normal wages (Because no tax was withheld). This means you do not need to do anything on your tax return. 

oleksiakd