Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm a consultant who received income from a company based in Switzerland last year. Are they required to provide me with a 1099-NEC?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

I'm a consultant who received income from a company based in Switzerland last year. Are they required to provide me with a 1099-NEC?

No, they do not have to follow American tax laws.

RoyAS

I am also a consultant that received income from a European based company that did not provide an NEC form. Where do I enter the income ?

LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

If you did not work as an employee and did not receive a Form W-2, you are likely a self -employed taxpayer.  If you worked as an independent contractor and did not receive a Form 1099, you will enter your information on a schedule C.  Due to it's international based company, you might not receive a Form 1099-NEC. To enter your self employed income without a 1099, here are the steps:

In TurboTax online, 

• Sign into your account, select Pick up where you left off
  • From the upper right menu, select Search and type in schedule c and Enter
  • Select the Jump to schedule c
  • Follow prompts