Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident alien (J1) and receive a tax-exempt scholarship from Germany. What do I need to file?

I have entered my third calendar year in the US (J1 - researcher), and thus became a resident alien. I receive a tax exempt scholarship from Germany. My partner (J2) had a regular job in the US. For federal taxes I am filing only my spouses income (W2 slip).  Is that correct or do I need to file my scholarship, too?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

I am a resident alien (J1) and receive a tax-exempt scholarship from Germany. What do I need to file?

I would enter the scholarship amount under "Other Income" and also enter a negative amount for the offset.  

In TurboTax online,

• Sign into your account, select Pick up where you left off
  • To the right upper corner, in the search box, type in "other reportable income" and Enter
  • Select Jump to other reportable income
  • Next screen, Other Wages Received, select No to continue
  • Next screen, scroll down all the way to the bottom, under Other reportable income, select Start
  • Next screen, Any Other Taxable Income? select Yes to continue
  • You will also enter the same amount as a negative number for the offset.

Make sure you keep record or a statement to show it's tax exempt status when IRS asks for it. 

If you and spouse meet the filing requirements, you would need to file a Form 1040.  Click here:  https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/irs-tax-return/do-you-have-to-file-an-income-tax-return/L2hxskb...

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"