Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cbansell

I am a pastor, my employer sent me a W2, but does not withhold for Social Security (SE) tax. How do I allocated my tax refund in turbotax to cover the necessary SE taxes?

I believe I am considered a "contractor" which is why I received a W2, but also need to pay my own social security at the 15.3% rate I just adjusted the W2 to mark religious employment. When I added in my housing allowance, I initially left the "qualifying expenses" blank, which made my tax owed skyrocket. It appears that if I used the fullness of my housing allowance these two cells would show the same number? That seemed to level out my taxes to where I would expect.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a pastor, my employer sent me a W2, but does not withhold for Social Security (SE) tax. How do I allocated my tax refund in turbotax to cover the necessary SE taxes?

As clergy, Social Security and Medicare are not withheld from your wages.  So you have to report your income a little differently.

I'm going to include the directions for reporting Form W-2 plus housing:

• You will report your Form W-2 under Wages & Income in the Wages and Salaries section.
  • Once you have reported your W-2 information, exactly as it appears on your Form W-2, click continue.
  • You may be asked to verify some numbers. 
  • Keep going until you get to the page titled “Do any of these uncommon situations apply to this W-2”?
  • Click the box beside Religious Employment.  See Screenshot below
  • You will be asked about your religious employment.