turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to treat foreign dependants that do not have SS# or Tax IDs?

I'm a US citizen and send money (monthly) to support parents who are foreign nationals and reside abroad (they've never been to US). I've been supporting them for many years now but could not claim them as dependents as they do not have a social security number or ITIN number (appears to be a requirement to claim a dependent). I thought I'd ask the question to the forum this year to see if anything has changed or there was some other way to account for this support. Can I get any credit on my taxes for supporting them? Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

If you do not qualify to claim them as your dependents, there are no other tax benefits including deductions or credits you can claim on your tax return, unfortunately.   IRS does not allow you to treat it as a charitable contribution for the deduction. I am attaching a link to a post that might be helpful for you to understand.  Click here:  Support to overseas