Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

edster
Returning Member

How to handle PPM using TT Premier

This is my first year investing in real estate.  I have bought shares in a PPM that distributes dividends through a K1.  I have yet to receive dividends at this point, but have invested money in 2020.  I have also incurred attorney fees when reviewing the company agreements,PPMs, and Subscription agreements.  I have tons of questions about how to put this into TT.   The money left my account and is now 100% at risk.   However, since I will not receive a K1 this year, let me just start with a few.

1.  Is there anything that I should be putting in this year?
2.  If there is, where does this go?  

In the future:
Will the K1 typically take into account my initial investment or is that something I need to do on my side?

Structure of the payout (if that matters)

We should be receiving about 8-10% dividends the first 2 years

Refinance happens at year 2-ish - we get 40-60% back then as a dividend (supposedly tax free as it is a loan)
year 4-5, sale happens.  Recoop 100% of investment plus 30-40% more. (assume get hit on taxes from 40-60% loan amount plus 30-40)

Worried that I am going to get taxed on my initial investment if I do not record things properly.

I keep seeing all these videos about turbo tax live with free help from a professional - wonder if that applies to the premier paid version...

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

How to handle PPM using TT Premier

Investments can be complicated and yet quite simple as long as the record keeping is maintained at every transaction from the first purchase to dividend income and/or reinvestment.