Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Filling a Detroit Return

I purchased a home in Detroit so I am a resident. My employer knows that I live in Detroit but city taxes is not being taken out from my wages. I contacted my employer and they told me that since I live in the city but do not work in the city  taxes is not being taking out. But not to long ago I got a letter and it was from the City of Detroit and they want me to file a city return for the year I purchased my home. So my question is one of the question on the city retrun ask how much of your income is made in the city and my answer is 0 cause I work outside the city  but lives in the city. Am I filling out the form correctly. I do not know what to do.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

Filling a Detroit Return

Yes, if it is asking how much of your income is earned in the city, and you do not work in the city, the answer would be $0. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

Filling a Detroit Return

Yes, if it is asking how much of your income is earned in the city, and you do not work in the city, the answer would be $0. 

Filling a Detroit Return

How do I fill out the form. Is my income exempt from Detroit city tax if so I tried to amend my 2020 tax year to add the city tax form and it will not print. Only the federal taxes was available for print. I need help this form need to be mailed before the 25 of April.

DMarkM1
Expert Alumni

Filling a Detroit Return