turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

F1 Student Filing as Resident Alien

Hello,

I am an F1 student and started my program in August 2015. It seems that 2020 is the first year I can file as a resident alien with Form 1040. I will file as single. I have a few questions:

1. Can I claim the same standard deduction as a US citizen? If I claim the standard deduction, can I claim tax treaty benefits at the same time? The US tax treaty with my country says $5000 exemption per year "for such period of time as is reasonably necessary to complete the education or training." Though it was not said explicitly if there is a limit of how many years, am I eligible to claim this tax treaty exemption together with the standard deduction?

2. Based on my situation, which turbotax package/edition should I choose to file my 2020 tax return? Does turbotax consider the nationality of foreign nationals and tax treaty articles that apply to maximize the return?

Thanks for your expertise. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JeffreyR77
Expert Alumni

When you file as a resident alien, you can claim the same standard deduction. You can claim your treaty exemption in TurboTax by following these steps:

• With TurboTax open select  Wages & Income.
  • Scroll down to Less Common Income and select Miscellaneous Income, 1099-A, 1099-C.
  • On the next page select Other reportable income.
  • On the page Other Taxable Income enter Tax Treaty Exclusion in the description and enter your exclusion as a negative amount   -5000
  •  This will put your Tax Treaty Exclusion on Schedule 1 Line 21 of your 1040.