Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

F1 Student Filing as Resident Alien: Am I Eligible for Stimulus/Recovery Rebate Credit?

I am an F1 student and came to the U.S. in August 2015. I think I am considered nonresident alien for tax years 2015 through 2019, and became resident alien for tax purpose starting January 1st, 2020. It seems that the 2020 tax return is the first year I can file as a resident alien with Form 1040 and use turbotax to help with my return. I will file as single. I came across some questions regarding my eligibility for the COVID Stimulus/Recovery Rebate Credit.

In the "Federal Review" section, I got asked the question by turbotax  "It looks like you qualified for the stimulus, did you get any payments?" If I answer "No," it will increase my federal return amount by $1800 and says "Great news! You qualify for the Recovery Rebate Credit." I did not receive any stimulus payment in 2020 or 2021, but I have no idea if my filing status qualifies me for the Stimulus/Recovery Rebate Credit.

Can some experts here explain if an F1 student filing as a resident alien for the first time for 2020 tax return is eligible or not for the Stimulus/Recovery Rebate Credit? If I am not eligible, it seems that in turbotax I have to answer "Yes" to the question "It looks like you qualified for the stimulus, did you get any payments" and then confirm that I have received the full amount of $1200 and $600 for the two stimulus payments, otherwise Recovery Rebate Credit will be added to my federal return amount. If I answer "Yes," will this information be furnished to IRS and be used by IRS in the future to force me to return the money which I never received?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?