Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I have to pay taxes in multiple states as an independent contractor?

Hello, I'm an Ice hockey referee and categorized as an independent contractor.I live in Maine but I officiate a lot in Massachusetts. I received two 1099's from organizations in Mass. When I file my return will I have to say I made money in other states? Also, I officiate youth hockey games in Maine but I'm paid by ref pay which is a company out of UT. Do I have to pay taxes in UT because I'm being paid by this third party vendor even though I'm officiating the games in Maine.  

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

You are liable for income tax  in any jurisdiction in which you worked that imposes income tax.

Thus, you will owe income tax in Maine on all income received but likely with a reduction for the taxes that you would pay in Massachusetts.  Similarly, the Forms 1099-MISC Box 7 forms that you receive from companies in Massachusetts and Utah expose you to liability.  In Massachusetts you would need to file a Form 1-NR/PY as a non-resident.  No idea about Utah.

If this posted response is useful to you, please click on the upraised hand in the lower left of this post. Thank you. Scruffy Curmudgeon--PFFM/ IAFF, retired FireFighter/Paramedic - Locals 718/30, Veteran USAR O3 AIS/ASA '65-'67

NOT INTUIT EMPLOYEE
USAR 64-67 AIS/ASA MOS 9301 - O3

- Just donating my time
**Say Thanks by clicking the thumb icon in the lower left corner -it means nothing but makes those than answer feel wanted.
Hal_Al
Level 15

You have to file a non-resident MA return and resident ME return