Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

  • Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Announcements
Your taxes, your way. Get expert help or do it yourself. >> Get started
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
uncbill
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

I want to file a state return for my main state residence. I worked two days in MA last year and don't need to file a return (based on minimum income) and don't want to pay $$$ to file a second state return.
8 Replies
ToddL
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

How much did you earn in MA and how much MA tax was withheld?
uncbill
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

I don't have the info in front of me at the moment, but it was in the neighborhood of $400 earned and $24 withheld. I was due a refund of a couple dollars.
ToddL
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

What was your gross income for 2016?
uncbill
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

I hesitate to post that here... what is the impact?
ToddL
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

round figures are fine I need it to calculate whether you are even required to file a MA return. Pick a range if you'd like, i.e. less than 10,000 more than 8000. Don't make it too wide a range
uncbill
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

I'm pretty certain I don't need to file the return. I eventually figured out how to delete a state return, I'm not sure it's the most elegant solution but it seems it will work.
ToddL
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

You almost certainly aren't required to file a MA return, so you can remove it from your tax file.

From MA DOR website: Nonresidents are required to file income tax returns with Massachusetts if their Massachusetts gross income (derived from sources within Massachusetts) exceeds either $8,000 or the prorated personal exemption to which they are entitled, whichever is less.

If you are not sure, here is the formula for the prorated personal exemption.

The prorated personal exemption: (PE) formula:

PE per filing status ($4400 if single)    x    Massachusetts gross income (from sources within MA)   =    Prorated PE
                                                                        Massachusetts gross income from all sources  

uncbill
New Member

Can I file one state but not another?

Thank you for looking into this for me. My question was less to do with "do I need to file?" and more with "how do I prevent turbotax from trying to file in this state?" Thanks again.

About Community

Learn about taxes, budgeting, saving, borrowing, reducing debt, investing, and planning for retirement.

3.48m
Members

2.6m
Discussions

Manage cookies
v