turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

bmucklow
Returning Member

Can I aggregate crypto transactions in the universal CSV file

I am a heavy crypto trader and I have over 15,000 transactions from this past year. The API connection to the exchange fails with a generic error but I suspect its because its over the transaction limit and times out. I can download the Gain and Loss report (Taxable Transactions, not 1099B)  from the exchange but it's over the 4,000 transaction limit of the CSV.  

I found TurboTax offers a Template CSV here:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/turbotax-support/en-us/help-article/cryptocurrency/create-csv-file-unsupport...

Can I aggregate my transactions in this CSV? Other competing tax tools have support documents on this subject and it appears that you can aggregate the transaction input. However I am wondering what are the rules for aggregating transactions that meet the CSV formatting requirements of TurboTax.

If I cannot aggregate into a single CSV am I allowed to break up the input into multiple 4000 transaction CSV files?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni

Can I aggregate crypto transactions in the universal CSV file

You have a couple options:

1. You can break up your Gain/Loss form into multiple documents (about 1500 per CSV as to not overload the system and ensure a successful upload). Then upload each document one at a time for the provider.