Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kdivaa
Returning Member

NJ SUI and SDI vs NJ SDI

Asking for opinions here. I am an NJ resident. Does it make more sense to work in NY or NJ (purely on a tax perspective for this discussion)?

This is what I understand:

1. NJ state taxes < NY state taxes

• It is possible to work in NY and then file taxes in NJ after without having to double pay so this may not be a great concern. 

2. NJ SDI (max: 649.54) > NY SDI (max: 0.60/week)

• For SDI, does it only have to be paid in the state you are working in?
  • If I work in NJ, I will pay for NJ SDI. But if I work in NY, the NY SDI will be withheld but when I do file taxes, do I have to pay the additional to NJ since NJ's SDI is higher?

3. NJ has SUI (max: 153.86) while NY does not. 

• For SUI, does it only have to be paid in the state you are working in?
  • If I work in NJ, I will pay for NJ SDI. But if I work in NY, there is no NY SDI so when I do file taxes, do I have to pay the additional to NJ?

Thank you in advance!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

NJ SUI and SDI vs NJ SDI

If you live in NJ and work in NY you have to file a NJ resident tax return and a NY nonresident tax return. You pay NY tax on your income from NY. On your NJ tax return you get a "credit for income taxes paid to other jurisdictions." The credit essentially eliminates the New Jersey tax on the income that was taxed by New York, but the credit is not the full amount of the NY tax. You still pay the full New York tax on your NY income. The New York tax rates are higher than the New Jersey rates, so you are paying more tax than you would if you earned the same income in NJ.