turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lindseyk
Returning Member

Tax Year Prior to 2020: I was an independent contractor last year and got reimbursed for mileage and meals while on work trips. My 1099-Misc does not include the reimbursement at all. Can I still claim a deduction for business travel/meal expenses?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
AmandaR1

Tax Year Prior to 2020: I was an independent contractor last year and got reimbursed for mileage and meals while on work trips. My 1099-Misc does not include the reimbursement at all. Can I still claim a deduction for business travel/meal expenses?

Yes, you can claim your deductions even if the reimbursements were included on your 1099-misc box 7 because you were taxed on the amounts. As an independent contractor you can deduct all of your business expenses. Only if you are reimbursed and the amounts aren't included in taxable wages; then you cannot take a deduction. 

I have all the receipts for reimbursables and want to just write them off in a single question (or a single tax line), but TurboTax wants me to answer all of the write-offs for my contracted work in separate categories. I don't have them separated out like that. I don't want to sort through my spreadsheet for the different categories and add them up for each question. I just want TurboTax to have an option for "reimbursable," as I've already done the work in collecting the data and know the total. 

WKins2
Expert Alumni