turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

laredotexas12
Returning Member

expenses

I am a self contractor and go to ranches and fix generators and lawn equipment. I get paid in cash. I am doing my taxes and have a couple questions about expenses. I do not own my truck its under my fathers name can I deduct the gas and miles on my taxes? or does it have to be under my name? I use my personal credit card to buy my tools and bought my laptop to use to search parts. Can I deduct the laptop and tools for expenses even though its a personal credit card? I do not have a business name and doing the taxes by my social security as an independent contractor. How many meals can I deduct?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Carl
Level 15

expenses

I am doing my taxes and have a couple questions about expenses. I do not own my truck its under my fathers name can I deduct the gas and miles on my taxes? or does it have to be under my name?

Regardless of whose name may be on the title, if you are the primary user of the vehicle and treat it "as if" it's your truck, then for this purpose it's your truck. But if it's a case of where you borrow the truck from your dad, that's a different story.

Basically, if the truck is not 100% business use, then you'll be taking the "per mile" deduction. See what's needed for that at https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc510 and also check out IRS publication 463 which is referenced on that website.

I use my personal credit card to buy my tools and bought my laptop to use to search parts. Can I deduct the laptop and tools for expenses even though its a personal credit card?