Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm a makeup artist for a company & received a 1099MISC which I filed. I kept receipts from supplies & want to write them off as well as miles traveled, how do I do it?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I'm a makeup artist for a company & received a 1099MISC which I filed. I kept receipts from supplies & want to write them off as well as miles traveled, how do I do it?

You must upgrade to TT Self-employed.

"want to write them off as well as miles traveled" Note that you are in fact required to do so under the law.
Hal_Al
Level 15

"I'm a makeup artist for a company" sounds like you're an employee.  But, "received a 1099MISC which I filed" means you are self employed. 
Although it may be news to you that you “have a business” (and most of the other people who get their first 1099-MISC); The IRS considers anything in box 7 of 1099-MISC to be self employment income. Enter the 1099-Misc income, at Other Common income / income from a 1099-MISC . TurboTax (TT) will complete Schedule C (or C-EZ)
for you and allow you to deduct any expenses associated with this income.  The expenses, as well as the income, go on Schedule C.

Self-Employed expenses of any amount will  require the  TurboTax Online Self-Employed version

Enter the expenses, In TurboTax,  at:

- Federal Taxes tab

- Wages & Income

Scroll down to:

- Business Items

- Business Income & Expenses (Sch C)

You'll also have to pay self employment tax (social security & Medicare) on any profits greater than $400. These types of payments are frequently done this way. Your "employer" is not the only one.