Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to claim US-China tax treaty for Chinese pension (article 17)?

I am a US resident/Chinese citizen. I received pension from my prior employer in China. According to US-China tax treaty article 17 (https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-trty/china.pdf), I think the Chinese pension is not taxable in US. 

However, I don't know if the pension is still reportable? Do I need to enter this pension in the tax return somewhere? How can I claim this treaty...  If so, where? 

I also tried to read up on Form 8833 (https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8833.pdf), it sounded to me that pension is exempt from reporting using this form. Can someone please confirm? Thanks so much!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

Let's first verify if you qualify for the tax treaty benefit.  Please read :  According to the US-China tax treaty, pensions paid by the People's Republic of China for services performed for China are exempt from U.S. income tax unless the recipient is both a citizen and a resident of the United States.These exemptions do not apply to income or pensions for services performed in connection with a business carried on by the People's Republic of China or its subdivisions or local authorities.  Please also see https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p901.pdf page 28

If you meet the criteria, you would report the foreign pension by creating a substitute Form 1099-R.  In TurboTax desktop MAC program, here are the steps:

1.  Open your tax file, 

2.  Across the top, select Federal Taxes/Wages & Income/I'll choose what I work on