Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Truck driver mileage deductions seems high

I just completed doing my tax, I am an owner operator Truck Driver and have covered over 152,000 business miles in 2017. I have my mileage logs and paperwork to back up my mileage but because the expense is so high (152,000*.535) my tax paperwork is reflecting a $60,000+ loss on the business part of my tax return. Is this normal? This is only our second year in business so we don't mind showing a loss but is $60,000 loss excessive? Should I not have included the cost of fuel ($75,000 roughly) in addition to mileage deduction? Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JulieH1

I hate to be the bearer of bad news , but the IRS considers a semi-truck to be a qualified non-personal-use vehicle. As a truck driver, you must claim your actual expenses for vehicles of this type. So, you can’t use the standard mileage method.

To deduct actual expenses for the truck, your expenses can include (but aren’t limited to):

• Fuel
  • Oil
  • Repairs
  • Tires
  • Washing
  • Insurance
  • Any other legitimate business expense

Other unreimbursed expenses you can deduct include:

• Log books
  • Lumper fees
  • Cell phone that’s 100% for business use
  • License and fees for truck and trailer
  • Interest paid on loan for truck and trailer

Depreciate your truck and trailer:

• Over three years for a semi-truck for regular tax — or over four years for the Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
  • Over five years for a trailer for regular tax — or over six years for AMT